Facebook…bridging or bonding?

On page 1152 in table four I found something a little weird…

In my opinion there are some conflicting or even opposite questions in the same category with similar means from the same population. For example, in the Self Esteem Scale, there is a sentence that says, “I am able to do things as well as most other people” with a mean of 4.29 and a standard deviation of 0.63. In the same survey in the same category the following was displayed to be rated: “All in all, I am inclined to feel that I am a failure.” Its mean and standard deviation were 4.27 and 0.86 respectively. Am I reading this incorrectly with the statements that have ‘reverse’ next to them? These two examples I have mentioned seem to be conflicting judgments with similar means. Unless the participants who rated both statements highly believed that “other people” were all failures I do not see why both statements both had high ratings.

Other than that I agree with the findings/results from this study, mostly because they align with my behaviors concerning FB. FB “can lower barriers to participation and therefore may encourage the formation of weak ties but not necessarily create the close kinds of relationships that are associated with bonding social capital” (p. 1163). I definitely take advantage of FB to keep in touch with people I would have normally lost touch with and it is definitely harder to create close kinds of relationship through the site.

About marialarahwang

Doctoral student at Teachers College, Columbia University.

Leave a Reply

